Waste not…

Never waste wrinkly, soft apples if they’re not bruised and brown…
I almost gave these to the chickens but when I started to call them and tell them I realized that they were still in pretty great shape! I ended up making a berry applesauce.
I peeled, sliced and cored the apples, put them in a pot with about 3/4 cup of a mixture of frozen berries, about a half cup of coconut sugar, a tablespoon of honey, a couple tablespoons of butter, the juice of half a lemon, a heavy teaspoon of cinnamon, some ground ginger, some grated nutmeg, a few dashes of sea salt.
I cooked it some and then mashed them because I was too impatient to wait for them to cook down. I’d only quartered them so it was seeming to take forever for them to cook!
It was kind of chunky so I pureed it in my blender. It’s delicious but I’m not sure what I’ll do with it. I’m thinking it might make some really nice bread or muffins…12795450_1755677521335034_5754045642700276657_n

Standard

Leave a Reply

